Why Didn’t I Think of That?

9 Oct

Last week my friend at City Girl Farming blogged about making Green Tomato Sauce and I thought to myself “Why didn’t I think of that?” I make salsa verde ALL the time, but I use tomatillos, not tomatoes! Well, from the pictures she posted I figured why not substitute green tomatoes?

I used the gas grill to fire roast the green tomatoes and a bunch of green and red jalapenos. The red ones are hotter than the green ones, mind you. After everything was charred I let them sit for 15 minute to cool, trimmed the stems and cores, washed the peeling off the tomatoes and cut them in chunks.

All this went into the VitaMix with a small chopped onion and 6 cloves of garlic. Once everything was pureed I simmered it for 10 minutes and added some salt and cilantro.

I got two good sized containers of spicy and delicious salsa from this small batch and made green enchiladas with one of them. The second one is in the freezer. Now that I know this works I plan to use all the unripened tomatoes for a big batch later this month, and I think I’ll can it, rather than freeze it. No tomato will ever be wasted again, thanks to City Girl Farming!

2 Responses to “Why Didn’t I Think of That?”

  1. Maria Grimsley October 17, 2012 at 7:30 am #

    Great idea, thanks for sharing!

  2. Ginny Rhodas October 23, 2012 at 9:38 pm #

    Yum, this looks good ! thanks for sharing Lisa .

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

