Kopytka

5 Jan

A few weeks ago Eddie told me he’d had a dream the night before in which he was watching his mother make one of his favorite Polish foods, and that he was going to try and duplicate what he saw in the dream.

Kopytka, literally translated from Polish as “little hooves”, is a pasta made from mashed potatoes, flour and egg. The dumplings are boiled and then served with soup or gravy or fried in bacon fat and topped with crumbled bacon. (My mouth just watered a little bit!)

Eddie made his first attempt at the recipe while I was at a business meeting one afternoon. Unfortunately, he ran low on flour and had a little trouble working with them, but they were delicious! The next time we worked together and I photographed the process. It is really quite simple and the result is SO worth it! Here’s the recipe and some visual  instruction.

4 medium potatoes, boiled and mashed
2 ½ to 3 cups flour
2 medium eggs
2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. pepper

Place mashed, cooled potatoes in large bowl. Lightly beat eggs with salt and pepper and mix into potatoes. Gradually add flour, 1 cup at a time, until dough becomes sticky. Turn out onto floured surface, kneading in more flour until dough is smooth and pliable.

Break into balls about the size of a small orange and then shape into logs about 1” in diameter. With a sharp knife, cut logs on a bias about ½” thick.

In a large pot, bring water to a boil and add dumplings slowly so they do not “clump” together. When they rise to the top, reduce the temperature and cook for 3 to 5 minutes while stirring occasionally.

Pour dumplings into colander and rinse with cold water. Serve with goulash or pot roast or fry them lightly in bacon fat and top with crumbled bacon. 

4 Responses to “Kopytka”

  1. mari January 5, 2012 at 12:39 pm #

    Heaven! I am really excited to make this for Jer and LB!!!

  2. Arlene January 5, 2012 at 5:50 pm #

    Super yummy!!! Can’t wait to try your recipe. I remember my Oma’s kopytka, she made them for us all the time as children. I think I ate mine plain with butter but as I grew older I enjoyed them with her goulash as well. She use to set up a little tray for me in front of the tv and I’d gobble them up. I just asked mom the other day how she made them. I miss her. Thanks for sharing this.

  3. Tammy C. January 6, 2012 at 7:32 am #

    Wow! Might have to be my dad’s birthday surprise meal! Yum Yum!!

  4. Kate Warthen January 9, 2012 at 6:43 am #

    This looks so delicious! Great prep photos too.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

