Platanos Machos…Que Ricos!

4 Aug

Ripe plantains on top of green plantains

Last year Eddie and I started seeing articles in the AARP magazine about the benefits of a “banana a day”.  Here are just a few of them. Banana Benefits.

So we have made it a habit to eat LOTS of bananas – plain, with cold cereal, in smoothies, in fruit salad, with wheat toast and peanut butter, and in banana bread (where they probably lose some of their healing properties due to baking).

I don’t exactly have to choke them down, but I loves me some variety. At our local Mexican food market last week I saw a beautiful pile of platanos machos and decided to introduce my husband to a classic, simple and scrumptious Latin American  dessert…Platanos Fritos con Crema.

Recipe for Two

Peel 2 ripe plantains (ripe plantains are yellow with black spots). Cut in half and then slice into 3 pieces.Heat peanut oil or canola oil about ¼ inch deep in sauté pan and add sliced plantains. Adjust heat so that it cooks the plantains quickly without burning or smoking.

A cast iron skillet does a nice job of caramelizing the fruit.

Fry to golden, transfer to paper towel to drain and serve immediately with dollops of sweetened sour cream. I add about 2 tablespoons of white sugar to ½ cup of sour cream and mix well. You can also simply sprinkle the fried plantains with sugar and drizzle them with sour cream. And, if you want to save on calories you can top them with plain yogurt.

Looks good, tastes good, good for you!

Well, Eddie loved them and they will be changing up our banana regimen a bit. I hope you can find them in your market and give them a try! Buen provecho!

5 Responses to “Platanos Machos…Que Ricos!”

  1. Dale Moana Gilmartin August 4, 2011 at 10:11 pm #

    Lisa,

    UDABEST! Aloha, Dale

    • Lisa Ruminski August 5, 2011 at 2:28 am #

      I KNOW you had these in Mexico, amiga! Thank you for visiting us…sending you some California goodies soon! XOXO

  2. Tori @ The Shiksa in the Kitchen August 5, 2011 at 12:47 am #

    Yay, Lisa! I love caramelized anything– and caramelized bananas are particularly delicious. I like to eat them on top of slow-cooked oats for breakfast, with chopped hazelnuts and a touch of milk. So good!

    • Lisa Ruminski August 5, 2011 at 2:27 am #

      Tori…I’ve recently started using wild black walnuts from Missouri in my sweet things, but I have some lovely hazel nuts in my fridge…will try mixing them up with my 5 Grain cereal from Bob’s Red Mill. Buen idea!

  3. charlotte September 1, 2011 at 4:05 pm #

    Damn, I want a kitchen!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

