Egg Salad and Green Garlic

18 May

At the Farmer’s Market a few weeks ago I made a palate-pleasing discovery…green garlic! I am a huge fan of the “stinking rose” and love it raw, sautéed, roasted, you name it, but the tender young plants sliced into a stir fry or a salad would tempt even a vampire! And, because the “heat” is not yet developed you can use OODLES of it and not overwhelm other flavors, such as eggs.

A few days ago I served egg salad sandwiches for dinner, made with fresh eggs from our backyard flock, chopped celery and red onion, and green garlic, of course. The green garlic looks like a green onion but the leaves are flat and V-shaped, rather than tubular. When you slice it open you can see the tiny cloves inside. I simply peel the bulb, slice in rings and chop.

I used 4 hard boiled eggs and about ½ cup chopped celery, generous amounts of chopped baby red onion and green garlic, mayo, sea salt and fresh ground black pepper to make the egg salad. I don’t like to add any other seasonings because I like to taste the egg…and the garlic, of course.

I also like a rather coarse mixture so I just mix it up and then “smush” it lightly on a plate, adding salt and pepper to taste…which means I usually consume quite a bit of the salad before it hits the sandwich.

Fresh romaine lettuce leaves, and a dense German caraway rye bread and half-sour pickles from our local European deli made this a simple, hearty and tasty dinner.

It is NOT easy to find green garlic…I couldn’t find it in any of our markets except the Farmer’s Market…and it is no doubt a spring season item. Fortunately, we live near Gilroy, the Garlic Capital of the World, so I can begin growing it in my vegetable garden and even in the flower beds for a continuous supply of green garlic… and protection against evil spirits!

6 Responses to “Egg Salad and Green Garlic”

  1. Aralena Malone-Leroy May 18, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

    YUM! I’m going to try this recipe tomorrow. We actually got a bunch of green garlic with our farmer basket last weekend. I made some soup with it, but am thinking that eating it raw is the way to go, since the flavor still pretty gentle.

    • ruminski May 19, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

      I am going to make soup this weekend with green garlic, leeks, some shallots I need to use up and potatoes…simmered in chicken broth and then pureed. Can’t wait to taste it!

  2. Dale Moana Gilmartin May 18, 2011 at 7:01 pm #

    Sounds yummy, Lisa. I love the pix, too. The eggs are beautiful!!!

    • ruminski May 19, 2011 at 8:29 pm #

      Yes, Dale, the eggs are gorgeous inside and out! Do you have room for a few hens? Am reading Alice Walker’s Chicken Chronicles…check it out. XOXO

  3. Kate Warthen May 18, 2011 at 10:59 pm #

    This looks soooo good. I like the way you assembled the ingredients first, and THEN smushed it together. I am not sure I’ll find it the St Augustine Farmer’s Market, and I don’t have the fresh eggs, but even with the other ingredients and the method of assemble, it should be great. I had sort of forgotten about egg salad..So Thank you, Green Goddess!

    • ruminski May 19, 2011 at 8:30 pm #

      You could probably grow your own garlic, Kate…I’m going to plant some this weekend. It’s an attractive plant and they can be tucked in among the flower beds.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

