Between Dancing the Tango and Learning to Surf…

22 Feb

Tango dancers on the streets of La Boca.

I’ll be blogging! On Thursday I leave for two weeks in Buenos Aires, Argentina and Punta del Este, Uruguay with my sister-in-law Renee, our neice Arlene, and her husband Will. Tango and surfing are two items on my bucket list, and although I don’t expect my initial attempts to be graceful, they will certainly be fun.

Miles of beaches in Punta del Este, Uruguay.

Will and Arlene are packing a laptop and I’m packing cameras and a journal to document recetas, recorridas y recuerdos (recipes, tours and memories). Eddie and his family emigrated from Poland to Argentina when he was four years old and lived there until he was 18. Two years ago I wrote a blog about the family’s escape during WWII that you can read here.

Lest We Forget

We will spend a week in Buenos Aires and a week at a beach house in Punta del Este, known as the St. Tropez of South America. Eddie’s oldest sister, Wanda, still lives there and Renee and Arlene visit often, so they know their way around. I am so happy to be traveling with them and seeing the places where Eddie grew up.

Eddie's Adios Argentina party in 1959.

I look forward to sharing videos, photos, recipes and random moments with you…when I’m not in the ocean or on the dance floor, that is!

Hasta pronto!

3 Responses to “Between Dancing the Tango and Learning to Surf…”

  1. Kate Warthen February 22, 2011 at 11:27 pm #

    Have a wonderful time, and take lots of pictures! That’s a great old picture of Ed – he still has the same optimistic look on his face..after all these years!

  2. Arlene February 22, 2011 at 11:36 pm #

    We are very excited to be with you in South American Aunt Lisa. A lot to see and do. I have 3 good travel books about discovering B.A. It’s going to be a blast. I’m most looking forward to sharing stories and making memories together. We leave tomorrow. Love you and Buen viaje.

    xoxo

  3. Dale Moana Gilmartin February 23, 2011 at 5:46 am #

    Wowie zowie, how fun! After you get a couple of waves under your belts, you all can come to Oahu and ride ‘em with me on the South Shore! Love and aloha and bon voyage!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

