Flash Flood!

16 Sep

About 50 miles from Amarillo we saw the rain clouds forming ahead..

When we left Albuquerque, New Mexico this morning I googled the weather forecast for Amarillo, Texas. It looked promising…highs in the 80’s and a 20% chance of thunderstorms, but as we got closer to the city the sky looked pretty ominous.

Before we arrived at the exit for Cadillac Ranch, which we planned to visit, we ran into steady rain and lightning, and decided to drive on to the RV park. Good thing! A few miles later, as we got into the city, the sky grew dark and then just opened up. The rain and hail storm lasted only about 10 minutes, but cars were pulling off to the side of the highway and we could hardly see the road.

Eddie got behind a semi and we buggered on for a mile or so, until suddenly all traffic came to a stop just before we reached an underpass. Uh-oh! An emergency vehicle appeared and set up lights and a crew at the edge of the LAKE that was just in front of us.

After an hour and a half the water level had decreased dramatically.

Once again, I googled weather for Amarillo and they had now issued Flash Flood Warnings for the city and surrounding area. DOH! So, nothing to do but wait until the storm drains caught up and the water level receded. Since it looked like a bit of a wait and it was almost 5:00, it seemed like a good time for a beer, cheese and crackers.

I wish I had taken a video of the storm…it was pretty incredible. I did take this one of our exit, though, an hour and a half later, as we exited the area. It was certainly an adventure, but I am happy to be settled in for the night at a sweet little KOA park, where I am gazing out at a pasture filled with happy, pasture-raised cows…in the great state of Texas.

6 Responses to “Flash Flood!”

  1. Kate Warthen September 17, 2010 at 1:11 pm #

    A travel adventure! Pretty exciting – send pics of the KOA campground..

  2. Rhonda September 17, 2010 at 2:55 pm #

    It is sure a good thing you weren’t in the Prius!

    • ruminski September 18, 2010 at 11:29 pm #

      We were a little concerned, Rhonda, about the luggage in our tow car (PT Cruiser). We are carrying granddaughters’ shoe collections to a wedding in Knoxville next month, since they’re flying and can’t pack everything they want to bring (girls and their shoes!). All I could think of was that car flooding and ruining their shoes!

  3. Buffie September 19, 2010 at 9:50 pm #

    I’m glad you’re ok, and SO impressed in the face of a natural disaster you get the cheese, crackers and beer out!

    • Sandra Hemphill February 21, 2012 at 6:18 pm #

      I was looking at The Shiska in the kitchen and you had your link on there. I was reading the story about the guy whose parents were in a concentration camp. When I clicked on your link and I was scrolling down, lo and behold, there was an exit I am very familiar with. I was at home the day I-40 in Amarillo was like a lake in the middle of the freeway. I can see the freeway from my apartment. Don’t have much faith in the weathermen, here.
      Sephardic Lady

      • ruminski February 22, 2012 at 10:27 am #

        It was really incredible, Sandra…I’ve never seen anything like that! Does that happen frequently in Amarillo?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

